Good News (For Me) Updates

A couple of updates on past posts are in order today. Both are good news for me.

The first one is the Curlew Sandpiper I found on the 19th of September. You can read about it here and here. The California Bird Records Committee has acepted the record. It will be the first documented record for Mendocino County.

The second update is–You may recall that I had an email conversation with Ted Floyd, the editor of “Birding” Magazine. That was back in October. I wrote about it here. He encouraged me to submit a letter to the editor for his magazine. I actually expressed some doubts that it would get published and wasn’t totally surprised when it wasn’t in the last issue of “Birding”. So I was surprised when I got this email from Ted.

 

On Jan 9, 2014, at 7:59 AM, Ted Floyd <tfloyd@aba.org> wrote:

Hi, Richard.

We’ll be running your letter in the next issue of Birding.

But let’s update something first. You mention your Green Big Year, which was a work in progress when you submitted your letter. But now it’s complete. So could you please update the two yellow-highlighted stretches of text below? Thanks, –Ted Floyd

Rakestraw’s article and Floyd’s blog post referenced Scott Smithson’s article, “The Green Big Day: Less Driving, More Birding,” pp. 46–52 in the July 2012 Birding. I would have to say that Smithson’s “Green Big Day” was the most thought-provoking article I have ever read in Birding. His article inspired me to look at how I bird. I decided I could cut my carbon output by using the local transportation system, using my bike, and using my feet to bird. I did a Green Big Year using these methods. I would up with ### species (no exotics, Ted), added seven new county birds, two of which are lifers, and saved ### carbon-producing automobile miles.

 

I emailed back:

On Thu, Jan 9, 2014 at 10:58 AM, Richard Hubacek <rhubacek@comcast.net>wrote:

Ted–let’s change that sentence to–“I found 250 species (no exotics, Ted), added eight new county birds, two of which were lifers, and saved over 2929 carbon-producing vehicle miles.”

I like the word “vehicle” because I drive a small truck.

Richard
 
Ted acknowledged my email.
 
So once again I will wait for the next issue of “Birding”.

 

One thought on “Good News (For Me) Updates

Leave a Reply

