Virgin Creek Beach and the Little River Airport

Friday I did my SOS Survey at Virgin Creek Beach. It was actually foggy. I’ve only has warm and sunny for most of my recent surveys. Below is a picture of wall to wall Black-bellied Plovers on the beach. 

There was also a lingering Long-bill Curlew that seemed almost tame.

I didn’t find anything new at the Little River Airport. The ponds are getting really low and when I ran into the Little River Golf Course Manager he said he was getting a little nervous. They own the ponds and they are the only source of water for the course. He said he might have 3 weeks left. The picture below is of a Great Blue Heron taking advantage of the low water to go after trapped food. I thought the reflection was neat.

I ended the week with 239 bird species and over 2489 truck miles saved.

 

 

Leave a Reply

