Looking for Horned Larks

Thursday I decided to look for Horned Larks at the Point Cabrillo Light Station State Historic Park. I’ve seen them there during this time period. It was probably the shortest bus ride I’ve taken. Only about 4 miles. I joked with the bus driver that I wasn’t getting my money’s worth.

I did not find any Horned Larks but did come up with a Clay-colored Sparrow. It was only the second one I’ve seen in the county.  I was surprised to find it. So surprised that I didn’t get a picture of it. I was expecting it to be one of the many Savannah Sparrows in the area. Clay-colored Sparrows are listed as rare here in Mendocino County. One or two are found every year. The range map below is from my Sibley Bird App. You can see that they are mostly seen in the middle of the country.

It is bird number 235 with over 2302 truck miles saved.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

