CANCELLED!!!

I writing this post during the time that I should be out on the Pacific Ocean on a pelagic trip. Rain and rough seas cancelled the trip.  I was expecting to add several new birds to my year list. To make the trip more green for me I had arranged to ride to Fort Bragg with Ron LeValley, one of the leaders for the boat trip. It just so happens that Jon Dunn, one of the other leaders was staying at Ron’s house and was in the car when I was picked up. For the birders reading this, yes it was that Jon Dunn, the editor of the National Geographic–“Field Guide to the Birds of North America” now in it’s 6th edition.

After the trip was cancelled we rode around doing some birding. He was really willing to share his knowledge of birds as was Ron. I was hoping some of it would rub off on me.

Without the birds I was expecting to find out on the ocean it will be hard to get over the 240 bird species I had thought I would get doing this experimental “green” year. 

With the Curlew Sandpiper I’m at 232 with over 2175 truck miles saved and with 3/4 of the year over.

Update: I just added a bird and some miles just by checking my records. I forgot about the MacGillivray’s Warbler I found at Hare Creek on the new Mendocino Land Trust Trail. That trip was a combined Hare Creek and Shrunk Rail Tracks trip. New totals are 233 birds with over 2196 truck miles saved. I’ll get to 240 anyway I can. 

2 thoughts on “CANCELLED!!!

  1. Sorry your trip was cancelled. We are in Oregon visiting my Mom right now, and this massive storm is dumping constant rain, with waves at 30 feet, so I am glad you are safe and sound, not on the ocean! We will try to convince some rare birds to follow us home so you can add them to your count…

    • Alison: You might have been a victim of climate change. Just found an article that states, ” According to Climate Central, this unusually intense event was the product of a long plume of moisture aimed directly at the Pacific Northwest. Further, “these moisture plumes are sometimes called ‘atmospheric rivers,’ which are responsible for some of the most damaging flooding events along the U.S. West Coast, particularly in California.”

      To make matters worse, a study released earlier this year found that climate change may lead to an increase in atmospheric rivers and their resultant extreme precipitation events. As the climate warms, the atmosphere can carry more water — meaning more intense rainfall and flooding. The head of the research, Dr. David Lavers, from the department of meteorology at the University of Reading, told Climate Central that “the link between ARs and flooding is already well established, so an increase in AR frequency is likely to lead to an increased number of heavy winter rainfall events and floods. More intense ARs are likely to lead to higher rainfall totals, and thus larger flood events.”

Leave a Reply

