I Almost Stole a National Geographic Magazine

I took a resident of the Lodge at the Woods to Coast Laboratory Services for a blood draw Monday. While waiting in the lobby I saw it!!!  An almost brand new copy of the September 2013 issue of National Geographic Magazine with the cover showing the Statue of Liberty with water up over her knees. The title was “Rising Seas”. I picked it up and it still had it’s special poster inside called, “Mapping a World Without Ice”. I had to have it!! What to do. My job takes me to many lobbies in Fort Bragg. I know where the good magazines are. Occasionally I’ve been known to take one home with me or even encourage a resident of the Lodge to take one home but this was a moral decision. A brand new magazine would be a first. How to get it out. I could put it under sweat shirt or maybe just fold it up with the paperwork I always bring with each resident. What to do, what to do? While they were drawing blood I just asked if I could take the magazine home. They said, “sure”. Problem solve, honesty is the best policy. 

You can see the online issue on their website.

One thought on “I Almost Stole a National Geographic Magazine

  1. This is a classic entry. I had no idea your blog was going to be so funny… You are a talented birder AND writer! Keep the wheels rolling.

Leave a Reply

