Time For A Reset

The Mendocino Coast Audubon Society will soon publish an article by me about my experimental year of birding Mendocino County using just the MTA, my bike, and hiking. You can read the article below. Since it will have my blog address in it, it might bring in new readers of my blog. I think this might be a good time to “reset” and point out some of the posts that I feel are important and should be read and since I have 86 posts this will help you find them.

As pointed out in the article below, the Black Oystercatcher has become a “California Bird Species of Special Concern” just based on the effects of climate change. You can find the link to the report in this post.

One post that everyone should read is, “So —What’s the Hurry.” It shocked me! It’s about two reports. One is called, “Greenhouse-Gas Emission Targets for Limiting Global Warming to 2C” and the other is called, “Unburnable Carbon”. The basic results of these two reports state that, “80 percent of all fossil fuel reserves would have to remain untouched to prevent uncontrollable warming.”

Another post to read is, “We Did It”. It’s about breaking the 400ppm Carbon Dioxide barrier. The first time mankind has done that and it looks like we’re not going to slow down.

My most popular post is, “Miami is Doomed”. It’s part of my “doomed” series that points out that climate change is happening now.

Another popular post is a recent one called, “The Politics of Climate Change”.

Those of you who like their coffee should read, “Coffee!!”. 

For my experiences riding the MTA click on “MTA” in the “tag” cloud on my blog.

For those who live in Mendocino County I’ve written a series of articles for the newsletter here at the Woods in Little River about how to get around without a car. My post titled, “The Woods Newsletter” (should get a more catchy title) is about getting practically anywhere in the world without a car.

The article below is much shorter than the original article. It was thought that it was too long, not upbeat enough (who would think that climate change could be upbeat), took a slap at a birding organization, and questioned the fact that birding was a low impact hobby. You can decide for yourself if it was a slap. Read, “Is the ABA Schizophrenic?“. For my feelings on extreme birding read, “Open Letter to Cornell Lab of Ornithology“.

Finally you can read about my experience with the recent Snowy Plover nest on Ten Mile Beach. It’s called, “Great Joy! great Sadness!”

Writing a blog has been interesting. I’ve never thought about doing something like this. Every view gets me excited. I have over 170 views. I have 7 followers, been read in five countries, and been “reblogged” and pingbacked(?). Please leave your comments.

Photo credit goes to Jeffrey B. Beard, North Coast Supervisor for MTA and Beards’ Photographic Arts

 

 GREEN BIRDING MENDOCINO

By Richard Hubacek

These days you might find me on the Mendocino Transit Authority’s (MTA) Route 60, the Coaster, heading North, my bike in their bike rack, to do a SOS Survey at Virgin Creek. Or you might find me eating a Subway Sandwich, looking at the Ukiah WalMart parking lot, while waiting for MTA’s Route 75 to take me back to the coast after pursuing a Common Gallinule at Mendocino College or a Grasshopper Sparrow at the Ukiah Waste Treatment Plant. What’s going on?

I have been doing SOS Surveys for several years now. After reading an article in the July, 2012 issue of “Birding” called, “The Green Big Day”, I got to thinking about the way I bird. I also have to admit that I have been reading some very disturbing books and reports on the future effects of climate change. I thought that I would be dead before those effects took hold, but it’s happening now. Global warming is causing sea levels to rise. I didn’t think the shorebirds would like that. I decided to see if I could lower my carbon footprint.

It’s 33 miles round trip from my home in Little River to Virgin Creek. I remembered seeing those buses with the big MTA on the side. I checked their schedule and found that I could easily take 23 miles off my trip, more if I wanted to brave Little River Airport Rd. on my bike (I’m not that brave). I did most of my SOS Surveys last year using that method.

It was suggested that I write an article about it for this newsletter. That got me to thinking about expanding the idea of just SOS Surveys to doing an experimental year of seeing how many different bird species I can find in Mendocino County using the MTA, my bike, shoe leather and using my truck as little as possible. So 2013 has been a year of lowering my carbon footprint, easing my pocketbook, and doing what I love to do, bird. I’m up to 222 species with over 1614 car miles saved.

As members of Audubon you should know that 2012 was the hottest year on record for the lower 48 states. 7 of the top 10 hottest years have occurred in the last 15 years. That heat created a massive drought (predicted to continue) across the middle of the country. Rising seas brought disaster to New York and New Jersey. Storms are getting more extreme. Last year Arctic Sea Ice was 18% less than the previous record low in 2007. The ice is melting faster then the computer models predict. This last May carbon dioxide in the atmosphere hit 400ppm. A level mankind has never experienced. 350ppm is considered the safe level. All this is impacting our bird populations.

I have started a blog to document my adventures during my experimental year. It also provides links to reports on the good and mostly bad effects of global warming. One of those links should be especially interesting to the readers of this newsletter. It tells about how our Black Oystercatcher became a “California Bird Species of Special Concern” just because of climate change. My blog is at:  greenbirdingmendo.wordpress.com

 

Apparently the editor thought I was being too modest. The new title for the Audubon article will be, “SOS Volunteer Goes Green for the Birds—and for the Earth”.

Leave a Reply

