Friday SOS Survey

The excitement for my SOS Survey today wasn’t the shorebirds but what was left of my bike rack at Virgin Creek.  As you might remember from a very early post the bike rack at Virgin Creek was destroyed by a heavy truck during some construction on the haul rd. 

Virgin_Creek_Bike_Rack.JPG

When I got there today, what was left of the bike rack was gone.

The bushes had been cut back which was good because there were some sticker bushes there. I’m hoping that this means that State Parks is going to replace the bike rack. For the time being this is my new bike rack.

It’s the Snowy Plover information kiosk. Hope they don’t mind! The shorebirds are still returning but nothing new was seen today. I’ve noticed that there seems to be more people fishing at Virgin Creek. It’s something I’ve not seen in the past. I asked one of them how it was going and he actually held his hands out about a foot indicating he was doing good. 

I believe this is a Kelp Greenling. He said that he and another person were catching at least one per day. They were good eating. The fisherman was from Chico where I retired from the Postal Service. Small world.

Added a new year bird today. It was a Tricolored Blackbird at my new favorite birding spot at Fred Holmes Lumberyard. TRBL’s are listed as rare here in Mendocino. There is one colony on Highway 20 at Maguire Pond and another in Potter Valley. A local birder doing a SOS Survey at Glass Beach noted a TRBL near the lumberyard and I knew it would show up sooner or later there.

That’s 221 birds with over 1563 car miles saved.

 

Leave a Reply

