Update on Gas Usage

The last time I talked about my gas usage I had gone 56 days between filling up my truck. Thursday I had to take my truck into Fort Bragg to put gas in it. I had lasted 49 days. My average had been 21.5 days before I started this experimental year so I’m still doing a good job in that area. Where am I still using gas? 10 miles round trip to Mendocino Bus Stop and several trips into Fort Bragg to catch the CC Rider (MTA) to Ukiah.

On my way back home I stopped at the Caspar Cemetery to look for a Northern Parula. The cemetery is one of the best areas to look for this rare Mendocino bird. Didn’t find one but got some excellent pictures of a Hermit Warbler.

Also went out to the Mendocino Headlands to look for a Tufted Puffin, another rare Mendocino bird. They have been seen during this time period. No luck. Did see 4 Rhinoceros Auklets to the north. There are a rough estimate of 600 Common Murres and 250 Brandt’s Cormorants nesting on the rocks.

Leave a Reply

