At Sea

This last Sunday I was on a full boat off of Fort Bragg, CA. It was the Spring Audubon pelagic birding trip. Ever since I moved to Mendocino and found out about these trips I have been going on them. They have been on various boats but the latest has been the Telstar captained by Randy Thornton. It was not the best boat trip I’ve been on. It was windy and rough. The last two Spring trips off of Fort Bragg have produced Short-tailed Albatross so expectations were high. We didn’t find a STAL but we did find a Brown Booby which was a life bird for me. It is the 4th record of a BRBO in Mendocino County. After checking various sources I believe that this bird is the furthest north of any Spring bird records. The record keepers will have to verify this. I got a good picture but I heard that because it came so close to the boat that the big lens photographers couldn’t focus on it.

We also had a Black Tern come up behind the boat. It also was only the 4th record for Mendocino. I got good looks at it but no picture. We did have a 2 Albatross day with Black-footed and Laysan Albatross.

More new birds were Sooty Shearwaters, Pink-footed Shearwaters, Bonaparte’s Gull and Rhinoceros Auklets. It was not the best day on the ocean but a life bird made it worth the trip.

I showed the picture of the Brown Booby to my boss where I work. She put it on their Facebook Page. She got a call from corporate that an improper comment was made about the name of the bird. It got taken down and she will put it back up using it’s scientific name. Booby, Booby, Booby, there I said it. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

