Long-billed Curlew

In my last post I said that I would probably have to wait to see Long-billed Curlews on their return trip. Well I was wrong. I saw this bird on Virgin Creek this last Wednesday. As some of you know, I have a part-time job driving for the Lodge at the Woods where I live. The Lodge is an assisted living facility for seniors and on Mondays thru Wednesday I’m on call to drive the residents to their appointments, shopping, and activities. This last Wednesday I drove one of the residents to a veteran discussion group on Odom Lane north of Fort Bragg. There would be one hour of down time where I was free to do anything I wanted while I waited. I decided to bird Virgin Creek which was nearby. This was a case where my down time paid off.

Leave a Reply

