To Celebrate I’m Going to Have a Beer

It’s been a good birding week. Last Thursday I got over to Ukiah again. I took Route 75 both ways. Route 75 is using Highways 128 and 253. At the Ukiah Waste Treatment Plant I got Warbling Vireo, Yellow Warbler, Black-headed Grosbeak, and Yellow-breasted Chat. I missed the American Avocets that had been reported the previous day. I then took the Local 9 to the corner of South Orchard Ave. and East Gobbi St. and walked down to Riverside Park. At the corner of East Gobbi and Oak Manor Dr. I heard a calling Hooded Oriole. After sometime I was able to see it. I had expected a hard time finding that bird. Nothing new at the park so I walked to the Pear Tree Shopping Center and did some shopping at Big Five Sporting Goods Store and the Home Depot. Also had a cup of Jamoca Ice Cream at Baskin Robbins. I think I’m getting this bus riding down.

Friday I did my SOS Survey. While I didn’t find anything new at Virgin Creek, the beach was hopping with shorebirds on their way north. Semipalmated Plovers, Dunlin, and Western Sandpipers were plentiful and mostly in breeding plumage. And There are some birds that have done their thing already.

Today at the Little River Airport I added a singing Swainson’s Thrush (always nice to hear and I’ve never had one in April), an Olive-sided Flycatcher that beat the earliest record by one day, and a Green Heron that was only the second one I’ve found there. Also heard Purple Martin, a regular, in the Redwood Trees and I’m still seeing large numbers of Red Crossbills.

So what am I celebrating about? On Friday while doing the SOS Survey I broke the 1000 carbon producing car miles barrier. I have now save 1022 car miles and I’m up to 185 birds seen.

Leave a Reply

