Tragedy at Virgin Creek

Friday March 8th, I arrived at Virgin Creek for my SOS Survey only to find “my” bike rack destroyed, flattened, by some monster truck. I call it “my” bike rack because I’m the only one that I know of that uses it. 

You can see the truck tracks in the picture. After the survey I went up to the MacKerricher Park maintenance area to report this outrage and was nearly run over by several monster trucks in their yard. All this activity, I believe, is because of the work being done on the Haul Rd. that I reported on earlier.

 

Actually the real tragedy at Virgin Creek wasn’t the bike rack. While I was biking the Haul Rd. I noticed an older man with a toy airplane under his arm walking out to the bluffs south of the beach. I was able to get a picture of his back.


Sure enough, while surveying at the first rocks just north of the main beach I saw a flock of Turnstones come by me heading north. I looked to the south and saw the plane flying over the rocks and the beach.


I’m sure that the flock of Turnstones were spooked by the plane. Even the gulls, normally at the creek’s mouth, moved north.  

Will have to find out from State Parks if this is allowed. 

I also wonder how I can get such a good picture of a moving small plane from a great distance when I can’t get one for a bird.

During the survey I found my first of year Willet and continued to find a Rock Sandpiper amongst the Black Turnstones and Surfbird flock. The longer it stays around the rarer it gets. Also had 2 Greater Yellowlegs in Pudding Creek as seen from the trestle bridge.

My totals as of today, Sunday March 10th, are 151 species with over 524 miles saved. I added Allen’s Hummingbird and Violet-green Swallow at the Little River Airport yesterday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

