Big Red Crossbill Day at the Little River Airport

I was coming back from my weekly walk at the Little River Airport when I noticed a tree in the distance. I could see about ten Red Crossbills in the tree. I had been hearing Red Crossbills all morning. After watching them for a little while, the flock exploded out of the tree and I could see that there were more then 10. I estimated about 34. I always seem to underestimate flock size so I took a picture of the flock. When I got home I counted the Crossbills in Photoshop. There were 62. I should just double my estimates and I would be closer to the actual. In any case, that’s a new high for me.

One thought on “Big Red Crossbill Day at the Little River Airport

  1. GBBC 2014 – greenbirdingmendo

Leave a Reply

